January Favourites

January proved a great month for beauty favourites – Christmas brought presents and January brought sales! I have been discovering some really great products that a) have made a real difference to my beauty/makeup regime and b) I am already saving my pennies for repurchases!

Without further ado…

Smashbox

Firstly we have the Smashbox Full Exposure Palette. I asked Santa for this at Christmas (I had recently had some pictures taken of me for a friend’s new clothing website and my lovely makeup artist used this on me… it was love at first sight). I haven’t actually experimented with many of the colours but have discovered the most perfect shade for my eyebrows! As you can see by the picture I have been using M6 which is a matte ash-brown colour perfect for blondes as there are zero red tones which equals zero ginger looking eyebrows. Santa also brought me the Zoeva Brow Line brush (322) which is fantastic (and under £6!) – it carries the powder perfectly, the slanted, packed bristles give it the perfect brow defining shape and it produces a really natural finish with little effort required. This brush is amazing!

20150201_145149565_iOS

 

Next up we have the Rimmel Wake Me Up Anti-Fatigue Foundation (I use the shade Soft Beige). I actually bought this last summer and really enjoyed it for a while until reverting back to my bareMinerals and then upgrading to Nars Sheer Glow prior to Christmas. When the festivities were over I wanted to give my skin a break from the heavy foundations I has been using and started using this again. So glad I did as I had forgotten how lovely it was! This foundation gives a really decent coverage without appearing too cakey. You get an even, fresh, dewy finish and it lasts very well on my skin (combination – I get dry patches and a really oily T-zone). The coverage isn’t as full as Nars Sheer Glow but it is good – I need decent coverage and can’t get away with wearing just a tinted moisturiser etc. A light dusting of translucent powder to set and I’m good to go. I’ve actually just repurchased this – Superdrug are doing ‘2 for £10’ with Rimmel makeup so I picked up a lipstick to and saved about £6 🙂

 

20150201_161645540_iOS

I am a huge fan of the Sleek Palettes! The quality is incredible and they’re so cheap (under £10!). My favourite so far has been the Storm Palette but I recently bought the Garden of Eden Palette which I have been using ever since! I haven’t done much with the green colours so far but the top line of bronze, pink and mauve shades are incredible. My two favourites by far are Eves Kiss (2nd on top) and Paradise on Earth (3rd on top). They are so well pigmented, they blend so well and look amazing.

20150201_145107381_iOS

 

 

Origins skincare in general really is a favourite for me. After Christmas I picked up a discounted value kit of Mega-Mushroom products which included the moisturiser, toner, cleanser and serum (above). I had been struggling with break outs and once I brought these products into my skincare regime AM and PM my skin cleared up and looked much healthier. The only full sized item that came in the set was the Advanced Face Serum so, as I have more of it, I have been using it religiously every morning and night. My skin looks healthier, more radiant and my sensitivity (something that I have really been struggling with recently) has hugely improved. I am terrified of finishing this product – it costs £60 on its own (I bought the whole kit for £40!) but it really is a beautiful product.

20150201_145424476_iOS20150201_145510760_iOS

 

I bought this lipstick last Summer when I was bridesmaid for my best friend Ruth. I enjoyed wearing it on the day and then it got lost in my makeup stash only to be re-discovered in January. It is from MAC and is in shade Angel. With a nude-pink frost finish it is really buildable and sits perfectly in the middle of a sheer and opaque finish!

20150201_145221795_iOS

 

Who likes cleaning their brushes!? This bareMinerals Quick Change brush cleaner is perfect to use in between washes. You just spray some onto a tissue and wipe the brush over leaving you with an instantly refreshed brush ready to use with a different product. I don’t have an exhaustive brush collection (yet!) so this means I can use the same brush for different products over and over again – perfect!

20150201_145749830_iOS

My favourite perfume this month has been Down Town by Calvin Klein. I’m not great at describing a scent but I would say this offers a feminine, floral scent balanced with more sensual notes that make me pick it up time after time – as you can tell I’m nearly finished!

Leave a Reply

