Hurdles…

As mentioned here + there throughout my blog, early last year I packed in my job, and life, in London and moved back to my hometown – Droitwich. At the time my plan was to get a temporary office job, save a bit of cash and go to the South of France to find a job on a super yacht (a lot of my friends do this/have done this and found it a great experience and very lucrative). However, the more time I spent at ‘home’, the more I didn’t want to go away, especially to a boat travelling around the world for months on end.

HURDLE 1: WHAT DO I DO WITH MY LIFE?!
Last summer I also discovered YouTube, blogging, Instagram and many other platforms with people talking about and demonstrating things they loved. My particular favourites, of course, were related to beauty. I was inspired by the whole blogger (massive) community – happily and freely obsessing and connecting over the smallest of beauty products which led me to really start thinking about what I actually wanted to do with my career, with my life. One night my friend asked me ‘why don’t you go back to college to study beauty therapy?’… about 7 days later I was signing myself up at my local college for Level 2 NVQ Beauty Therapy. I went back to school, with girls 10 years younger than me, I had to do the most patronising GCSE work on top (even though I have a degree!), but I persisted in telling myself every day ‘it’ll be worth it’.

HURDLE 2: I SMELL LIKE A DONOR KEBAB
Cue probably the hardest year to date. Cue the year I finally learnt the meaning of hard work, dedication, slog. Firstly, I was broke. Being a full-time student meant I couldn’t hold down a full-time Monday to Friday job so I was working 6 nights a week at a friend’s Chinese restaurant. It kept the money coming in, kept me going, but it allowed me very little social time. I was also delivering food for a kebab shop. There, I said it, it’s out in the open! At school, I was the ‘posh one’. The Sixth Form committee nicely gave me the award in the yearbook of ‘Biggest Snob’ (may I add, I am NOT a snob, but I was a teenage diva). I’m relatively well-spoken, I like the finer things in life, I carry a Mulberry (gifted, i’ll add!) and eat sushi. But I had to earn and I had to earn enough to pay the bills, the rent, the debt, the college costs. So i was ferrying kebabs, pizza and chow mein around my local town for some time, in no way loving it, but getting on with it none the less. It was really difficult going from having an exciting, social, adventurous, comfortable life in London to a life of work, work, work in a small West Midlands town. After Christmas I landed a great job meaning I could work from home on flexible hours which saw my retirement from the fast-food sector. *Huge sigh of relief*

HURDLE 3: LIVING IN A MOUSE HOLE 
My parents retired and moved down to Devon in December so I swiftly rented a tiny bedsit, which is where I am typing from now. This place is minuscule – the whole flat is the size of most people’s kitchens! I have to be very strict with myself, especially working my main job from home and force myself every day to take the small shuffle from my bedroom area to my office area. It takes me 3 days to dry my clothes in here, there’s no bathtub and the walls are so thin I can hear the downstairs neighbour snoring (god knows what he hears of me).

MORAL OF MY RAMBLINGS: 
I may work 70 hour weeks, I may live in the smallest flat in the world, I may have gone back to the beginning with regard to my education/career and be so broke my friends send me food parcels… but today I launched the website for my new mobile beauty business. My best friend’s husband designed it for me and got it live, mobile friendly and looking great and I couldn’t be more grateful. I feel like today is the first day of the rest of my life. There’s still many hurdles for me to jump, but I’ve got this far thanks to absolutely incredible friends and family and sheer determination and dedication on my part. I’m really proud of myself and can’t wait to get clients and slowly start making my career what I want it to be.

If you want to take a look at my website visit www.lovelytimebeauty.co.uk 

LTB-001

One thought on “Hurdles…

  1. So unbelievably proud of you! You are following your dream and it’s so close now! There have been lots of tough times but you have shown great resilience! Well done Sophie! Lots of love Winky xx

Leave a Reply

