Back to bareMinerals

I started using bareMinerals foundation in 2009 and was a faithful fan until earlier this year when I started testing out other foundations *just because*. I think it was because I started getting more into reading beauty blogs and wanted to try out the products bloggers were raving about. 

I went back to bareMinerals last week because a) one of my best friends works for them and I wanted to see her and b) I wanted to try the compact foundation to compare it with the loose powder version.

image_1

image

barem

I’m not entirely sure why I haven’t read many blogs about bareMinerals foundations? I honestly think they’re incredible! As long as you get the buffing technique right (not difficult at all) you’ve got  long-lasting, even, natural foundation. It covers my spots better than any liquid foundation and also I get less of those pesky under-eye creases. My oily skin is controlled better, as are the scars I have on my forehead (from falling down the stairs as a baby!).

I understand that this isn’t for everyone. My friend Charlie says she has tried it but it just didn’t cover the scars on her face as well as some liquid foundations do. So I get that some skins do just need the liquid consistency for a full coverage. But I do recommend going to a bareMinerals counter in your local department store and asking for a demo if you haven’t tested it out already. I think they aim to impress you in around 15 minutes so that’s not much time lost! When I first tried it, it really was a EUREKA moment!

I have always used the original loose powder version of the foundation, using one of their ‘full flawless face’ brushes. This time I’ve bought the ‘bareMinerals READY’ version which is a compact powder in a nice, sturdy case. With this I use the ‘precision face’ brush which is angled and is fantastic for applying such a foundation – it gives such a flawless finish. Here is me with just the foundation applied…

bm

I think I’ll be a faithful fan for the next 4 years too 🙂 It is the most ‘wearable’ makeup I am familiar with and all mineral based and the READY foundations are SPF 20 which is all a big pro.

I’m wearing colour R310.

Leave a Reply

