A heavenly cleanser (+ some science)

La Roche-Posay Effaclar – Purifying Foaming Gel for Oily Sensitive Skin.

2013-12-01T15-07-36_3

I’ve wanted to write about this product for ages but I really wanted to get some good use out of it first. I’ve been using it for about 6 weeks now so can confidently give it a true review.

In simple terms: I LOVE IT!

Firstly, La Roche-Posay’s products are all soap free and pH 5.5 which basically means the acid-alkaline levels are suitable for our natural skin. If we use products that are too high or low on the pH scale our skin is being stripped of the protective acid mantle barrier which is there to retain moisture and to block toxins and bacteria. Really, we should be using such balanced products in order to protect our skin for our future; the more our acid mantle is stripped the more susceptible we are to premature ageing. Our dermis (the second layer of skin) contains collagen which helps to plump our skin providing shape. When the collagen is reduced (from using the wrong products) the skin turns saggy and wrinkled. So… it really is important to know what you’re putting on your face, and the rest of your body, if you want to keep your skin as young and plump as possible in the future!

A few months ago at College we had Dermalogica training and the lady showed us something very interesting. She applied some soap for ‘very sensitive skin’ and some kitchen cleaner separately onto a student’s arm. She then tested the pH levels with a litmus paper. It turned out the soap was closer in pH levels to the kitchen cleaner than to the skin. Scary…

I am 27 so by no means old but I am not getting any younger. I have noticed my first signs of ageing such as a little sagging and dehydration creasing around my eyes over the last 6 months. After reconsidering a lot of my skincare products I have certainly started to notice an increase in plumpness and I know that my skin will thank me in 10 years time!

Anyhoo, back to the actual cleanser! It has a light, clear gel-like formula and you only need a little on application. It foams up nicely, but not too much. When I first used it I wasn’t sure if it was actually removing all my makeup due to how light it felt but after testing with some makeup remover on a cotton pad I could see it had all been washed away.

I have a really oily T-Zone and although the oiliness has by no means disappeared, I have noticed a difference which for 6 weeks is pretty good.

Effaclar is a really clean, fresh product. I highly recommend it. You can get it here in Boots where it is currently reduced to £7.87 (from £10.50). And if you’re buying online don’t forget to get cash-back too! (Info here). 

One thought on “A heavenly cleanser (+ some science)

Leave a Reply

